2018 Tire Rack Packwood Championship Tour

The Tire Rack Championship Tour made the long trek to Packwood, Washington this past weekend for the first of back-to-back SCCA Solo® events. The weather was hot and the competition followed its lead. With 284 drivers competing, many classes were close calls with wins being decided by thousandths on final runs.

In Super Street, Ryan Clark led after day one with Ambrose Fung just 0.080 second behind. After coning away his first run, Fung overtook Clark to win by 0.223 second. Cam Withell rounded out the trophies just 0.365 back in third.

Street Touring Sport was the second-largest class at this event with 24 starters. Eric Stoltz struggled with cones on his first two Sunday runs, then grabbed the lead on his last run, but the celebration was short-lived as Christopher Vreeland cleaned up his dirty runs and went faster to take the win by 0.009 second. Oliver Taylor, Jeremy Villalva, Garrett Cogburn, John Toothaker and Bailey Sampson claimed the remainder of the seven trophies.

Moving on to the largest class of the event, Street Touring Xtreme had 27 drivers and saw domination as Mark Scroggs jumped into Annie Gill’s Scion FR-S. Scroggs led Nigel Koit by 0.240 second after day one and stretched that lead to 0.956 second for the win. Tony Rodriguez slotted into third, just 0.134 second back from Koit, with Kevin Dietz another 0.099 second behind in fourth. Adam Ruff, Adrian Cardenas, Annie Gill and Richard Basford claimed the remaining trophies in fifth through eighth respectively.

In C Street, Brian Coulson led after Saturday as Andrew Kessel coned his fast third run. On Sunday, Kessel returned on a mission, laying down progressively faster laps, all fast enough to claim the victory. The final margin back to Coulson was 0.626 second. Maurice Velandia and Joe Goeke claimed the remaining trophies in the 13-driver class.

The 10-driver Solo Spec Coupe class was another tight one, with Piotrek Szarkowicz leading after day one and it looked like a sure thing, until Norman Hayton’s third and final run. After cleaning up on run 2 and finding 0.600 second on his third run, Norman was able to secure the win by a final margin of 0.200 second. Michael Lillejord and Nicholas Chu rounded out the trophies in third and fourth respectively.

Richard Thatcher was leading A Street Prepared at the end of day one, but James Keller took over the top spot during the first runs of day two. On his second run, Perry Keller took to the top spot from his co-driver and stood on that to take a 0.032-second victory. Thatcher found time on his third run to reclaim the second position, 0.549 second ahead of James Keller.

In C Street Prepared, Bob Bundy led after day one, but would hand the lead back and forth with Jim Mclaughlan after each run. Mclaughlan ended up taking the victory by 0.239 second, despite a third-run improvement from Bundy. Matt Zyskowski claimed the third and final trophy spot in the seven-driver class.

C Modified drivers came out in droves to fill the class with nine drivers. Mark Uhlmann lead after day one, but Eric Clements came out on day two with much better pace and claimed the lead on his second run. Uhlmann was unable to improve on his third attempt and Clements took the victory by 0.818 second. Michael Marich claimed the third and final trophy position.

Complete Results from the 2018 Tire Rack Championship Tour can be found here.

Top 10 in Overall PAX:

  1. Jeff Kiesel, EM
  2. Mark Scroggs, STX
  3. Zak Kiesel, FM
  4. Ambrose Fung, SS
  5. Ryan Otis, CAMC
  6. Ron Bauer, DP
  7. Ryan Clark, SS
  8. Andrew Kessel, CS
  9. Nigel Koit, STX
  10. Tony Rodriguez, STX

Top 5 in Ladies PAX:

  1. Mindi Cross, STXL
  2. Catherine Tran, STXL
  3. Laura Molleker, SSL
  4. Lacey Otis, STRL
  5. Youmna Zalzal, ESL